Apportioned convenience

I am a product of this age: using scripts, leveraging the OS, and staying away from novel data structures, risky problems, and learning paths to take years, yet somehow afloat for one lonely reason: people need a bridge to computers, and I am the translator.

I really need to create a great service. It needs to enable users to schedule their own tasks. Right now, things are too cushy: the reports come in unless they don’t; I fight the same little fires; and everything is just the minimum to fulfill the requirements. If this were the era of mainframes, would I even have this position? Or, like those fortunate sons, would I have no recourse but to learn Z80 assembler?

It’s too easy to stagnate. The bare minimum is close to being solved – has been, in my opinion: when I can readily call up different technologies and whip out a prototype, is that experience or complacence?